For parents of young children
Due to the rise in COVID-19 cases, our office is closed to the public. The CCR team is available during our regular business hours to assist you by phone, email, fax, and mail. You can also use the drop box in the alley located behind our building to leave us paperwork. If you would like to pick up paperwork, we have a stacker with scholarship forms located outside our office door. If you have questions about what forms you may need, please contact us by phone or email in advance so we can prepare a packet for you.
We know these changes are inconvenient and less friendly than we prefer. We are doing our best to keep you and our staff as safe as possible. Thanks for your patience while the CCR crew does our best to serve you while working from home.
CARES Act Grants
Emergency Housing Assistance Program will provide rent, security deposit, mortgage payment, and/or hazard insurance assistance as-needed for Montanans who have lost a job or substantial income loss because of COVID-19. Household income limits range from $75,000-$125,000 based on family size. Montanans receiving other forms of housing assistance are not eligible. A comprehensive information resource and application portal is available at COVIDRelief.mt.gov.
In-Home Grants for Families
In August, Montana dedicated $10 million to help families facing special circumstances that resulted in the need to keep children at home rather than in school or child care. Households with children ages 0-18 with a medically vulnerable family member, a child with remote learning challenges, or in communities that have no school age care available were eligible for $4,000 grants. That program launched in August and eligible families received $4,000 grants.
As of October 25th, CCR awarded the entire $1.5 million to 375 families in Missoula, Mineral and Ravalli counties. There are approximately 3,500 families on the waiting list statewide.
It is possible that Montana will allocate additional funds to this program in which case the waiting list will be prioritized. CCR is no longer accepting applications.
Upload your completed application or mail/drop it off at 500 N. Higgins, Suite 202, Missoula, MT 59802.
Child Care During COVID-19
Do not take your children to child care for 14 days if:
- Anyone in your household is sick.
- You have been in contact with someone who has been tested and diagnosed as positive for coronavirus and/or COVID-19.
The Missoula City County Health Department issued Phase 2 guidance for child care settings as well as additional guidance for the use of face coverings. Effective July 9, Missoula City County Health Department now requires face coverings in indoor spaces. And effective November 20, Governor Bullock announced a new face mask mandate for all counties in Montana. Make sure the facility your child is attending adheres to these guidelines.
Some families may be able to use family, friends, or neighbors as caregivers. CCR advises you to use an informal caregiver who is under age 60, in good health and has no underlying health problems. Having someone care for only your children, rather than using a group setting, reduces the risk of infection to your child and the risk your child might transmit the disease to others. Young children cannot understand or remember to maintain 6 feet of distance and child care providers must touch children to care for them. Here are some tips for informal caregivers which are also useful for parents.
Best Beginnings Scholarships
Governor Bullock issued an emergency child care directive which gives DPHHS Early Childhood Services Bureau flexibility to modify scholarship rules and procedures under the directive’s broad guidelines. The Bureau approved additional assistance for scholarship recipients for March, April, and May. The Bureau has recently also approved additional assistance for August forward.
Starting August 1st, the state will again pay full authorized attendance amounts for children eligible under the Best Beginnings Child Care Scholarship if they are in attendance at least 85% of the authorized time. Additionally, the Bureau has temporarily set the school-age state reimbursement rates to match the higher preschool-age state rates effective 8/1/2020. State reimbursement rates for the Best Beginnings Child Care Scholarship can be found here.
Beginning November 1, school-age children can be authorized for up to 30 hours per week during the 2020/2021 school year regardless of the learning environment and school schedule. This limitation in hours is to comply with federal rules regarding school age care. If you are currently authorized for more than 30 hours, this re-authorization takes effect 11/1/2020 and the scholarship will only cover 30 hours even if school is not in session. If your child receives the Special Needs Subsidy or if you work non-traditional hours, you may be eligible for more than 30 hours. Contact your case worker if you meet one of these circumstances. Here is a state flyer outlining the changes.
Co-payments & Sliding Fee Scale:
The sliding fee scale has been updated effective 11/1/2020. This change has been implemented and the copay for some families was adjusted starting 11/1 going forward. Not all families were eligible. Here is a state flyer outlining this change and the new income limits can be found here.
If your usual facility is closed, the scholarship travels with you to any other licensed child care program. Let us know if you need help finding one with openings.
Remember to report changes to your contact information, child care provider, activities, family membership, and income promptly. Income and activity changes reported may decrease your co-payment. If you have lost employment or become unemployed, please contact your caseworker to see if you are eligible for a grace period.
This site will be updated as policy changes are made known. Check back and watch for our e-news for further updates. Please make sure we have your email address so we can contact you promptly if we receive new information. You can email your caseworker directly to be sure we have your address or you can send an email to our general inbox.
The Missoula City-County Health Department now requires face coverings in indoor public spaces and Governor Bullock’s mandate requires face coverings in counties with at least 4 active COVID-19 cases, but recommends it in all counties. This includes children over the age of 5 and is recommended for children ages 2-4. Children under the age of two should not wear a face covering. Click here for more details. If you are located outside of Missoula County, Governor Bullock recently announced an FAQ clarifying that employees and children in child care are not required to wear masks, but it is still strongly recommended. Providers and families in Missoula County are required to follow the more restrictive measures of each mandate which includes employees and children ages 12+ wearing a mask in child care while indoors. Here is a resource from the CDC with DIY instructions for making your own cloth face covering.
Resources for talking to children about face masks:
- Masks Aren’t Scary! A COVID-19 story about face masks for children ages 0-3
- Wear Face Masks, Stop Germs! A COVID-19 story about face masks for children ages 4-6
Parenting During COVID
We realize this is a stressful time for you and your kids. To help you get through it, we recommend that you engage in fun activities together – games, books, cooking, playing outside.
- Here is a comprehensive resource for Supporting Young Children During COVID-19.
- CCR has some tips for parents sheltering at home with their young children.
- The National Head Start Association has compiled some great supports for parents here.
- Healthy Start has resource guides for Pregnancy and New Parenthood during COVID-19 and Parenting during COVID-19.